Fri, 19 Jul 2024
( 13 Muharram 1446 )

Pakistan name new selection committee

11 July, 2024 20:11

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Thursday announced the formation of new selection committee featuring former Pakistan cricketers, coaches and white and red ball captains.

Former captain Mohammad Yousuf and former batter Asad Shafiq, who were part of the previous setup, were retained in the committee.

Apart from that coaches Jason Gillespie and Gary Kirsten as well as red-ball captain Shan Masood and white-ball captain Babar Azam will also play integral roles in the selection.

Their first task will be to select players for the upcoming Test series against Bangladesh.

The upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh is scheduled to be hosted in Pakistan next month.

Players invited to the training camp will undergo rigorous fitness assessments before final selections are made.

Notably, Bilal Afzal will not be part of the new selection committee, instead, he will be assigned a new role within the PCB.

Data analyst Hassan Cheema and Director International cricket Usman Wahla are also excluded from the selection committee.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top