Sun, 16 Jun 2024
( 10 Dhul Hijjah 1445 )

3 European states set to recognise Palestine on 28th

22 May, 2024 14:09

Norway, Ireland and Spain have announced to recognise the Palestinian state on May 28.

According to foreign media reports, the leaders of the three countries have said that it has been decided to recognize Palestine as a state for the sake of peace in the Middle East.

Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Store said that a two-state solution is in Israel’s best interest as without recognizing Palestine there can be no peace in the Middle East. Store said the Scandinavian country will recognise Palestinian as a state on May 28.

In recent weeks,  several European Union countries have hinted at their plans to recognise Palestine as a state. They argued a two-state solution is a must for durable peace in the region.

Norway is not an European Union member. The country has been a supporter of a two-state solution between Israel and Palestine.

Israel immediately recalled its ambassadors from Ireland and Norway after European countries announced their recognition of the Palestinian state.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top