Sat, 15 Jun 2024
( 09 Dhul Hijjah 1445 )

Naqvi stops Pakistan T20 World Cup squad announcement

24 May, 2024 15:15

Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Mohsin Naqvi has stopped the announcement of the T20 World Cup squad after selection process was not completed according to the procedure.

According to sources, Naqvi, who is also the Federal Interior Minister, is unhappy after the selection committee finalised the squad without consultation with all seven members.

The sources inside the board also confirmed the development stating that the PCB chief wants to know the opinion of every selector under the procedure, the team should be selected after consultation with the entire selection committee.

“The PCB will now announce the team formed after the opinion of the selectors by this evening,” it added.

It is worth mentioning here that the deadline to finalize the squad for the ICC T20 World Cup is May 25.

Currently, two selectors – Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Yousuaf – are present in England with the team along with white-ball captain Babar Azam and coach Gary Kirsten.

Rest of the selection committee members compressing of Abdul Razzaq, Asad Shafiq, Bilal Afzal and data analyst Hasan Cheema Aki Rai in Pakistan.

Pakistan probables for the World Cup: Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, and Usman Khan.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top