Wed, 17 Apr 2024
( 08 Shawwal 1445 )
Wed, 17 Apr 2024

Popular News

PCB announced Pakistani squad for New Zealand T20I series

19 December, 2023 17:01

Chief selector Wahab Riaz on Tuesday announced the 17-member squad for the upcoming T20 series against New Zealand in January next year.

Pakistan is scheduled to play a five-match T20I series against New Zealand commencing from 12 January – 21 January 2024.

Shaheen Shah Afridi will be leading the Pakistan squad (T20I)for the first time. The series also marks the start of Pakistan’s preparations for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, which is scheduled to take place in June 2024.

First time called in T20I :  Mohammad Abbas Afridi, wicketkeeper-batter Haseebullah and leg-spinner Usama Mir had earned their maiden call-up to the T20I team.

T20I returnees : Sahibzada Farhan, Azam Khan uncapped Abrar Ahmed return to the squad.

Pakistan has opted for six pace bowling options for specifically for New Zealand ; Aamir Jamal, Zaman Khan, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Abbas Afridi and Shaheen.

Naseem Shah, Ihsanullah and Shadab Khan will not be part of the squad due to injuries. Shan Masood, Mohammad Haris and Faheem Ashraf, who were part of Pakistan’s squad during the last bilateral series, miss out on the tour.

T20I – training camp at Lahore

The training camp will take place 28 December 2023 to 3 January 2024 in Lahore. Nine additional players have been called up to the camp: Mohammad Haris, Arif Yaqoob, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Amir Khan, Sajjad Ali Jnr, Shahab Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Ghulam and Omair Bin Yousuf.


Schedule of Pakistan’s 2024 tour to New Zealand

1st T20 – New Zealand vs Pakistan, 12 January, Auckland

2nd T20 – New Zealand vs Pakistan, 14 January, Hamilton

3rd T20 – New Zealand vs Pakistan, 17 January, Dunedin

4th T20 – New Zealand vs Pakistan, 19 January, Christchurch

5th T20 – New Zealand vs Pakistan, 21 January, Christchurch.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top