Fri, 23 Feb 2024
( 13 Shaban 1445 )
Fri, 23 Feb 2024


Gladiators remove Sarfaraz as captain after 8 years

12 February, 2024 18:53

Quetta Gladiators have removed Sarfaraz Ahmed as captain after eight years, owner Nadeem Omer confirmed told reports Monday.

Sarfaraz has been associated with Quetta Gladiators since the inaugural edition of the HBL Pakistan Super League.

The franchise achieved the only HBL PSL triumph under the wicketkeeper-batter’s captaincy in 2019.

“Sarfaraz wants to take a break from captaincy with new head coach Shane Watson set to decide who will lead the side after consulting with the team management,” Nadeem said.

South Africa’s Rilee Rossouw, who returned to the franchise from Multan Sultans, and Pakistan’s middle-order batter Saud Shakeel are the two contenders to replace the International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions trophy 2017 winner.

The official announcement will be made in the upcoming days.

Meanwhile, Nadeem is happy to see Watson coming back to Gladiators as a coach and wishes to bring Kevin Pietersen too.

“The old family of Quetta Gladiators has started coming together again. Pietersen should also come with Quetta Gladiators in some role,” he said.

Quetta Gladiators squad

Rilee Rossouw (Platinum), Mohammad Wasim, Jason Roy, Wanindu Hasaranga (all Diamond), Sarfaraz Ahmed (Brand Ambassador) Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain (all Gold), Mohammad Amir, Will Smeed (Silver) Saud Shakeel, Sajjad Ali, Usman Qadir, Adil Naz, Khawaja Nafay, Akeal Hosein, Sohail Khan, Omair Yousuf, Sherfane Rutherford, Bismillah Khan (partial replacement for Wanindu Hasaranga), Sufiyan Muqeem

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top